NCERT Solution for Class 6 Geography Chapter 7 Our Country – India

NCERT Solution for Geography Chapter 7 Our Country – India

NCERT Solutions are useful for students who aim to score well in their examination. For the student’s benefit, we have provided detailed solutions to Chapter 7 Our Country – India. The Solutions are written with precision and explained in depth for a better understanding. This will also help students fetch more marks in the annual exam if they write they answer as provided in the NCERT Solutions for Class 6 Social Science Geography Chapter 7. These solutions are best resource for students while preparing for exams.

  1. Answer the following questions briefly.

(a) Name the major physical division of India.


The major physical divisions of India are :

Great mountains of the North Himalayas 

North India plain

Peninsular Plateau

Coastal Plains


Arabian sea in the west, Bay of Bengal in the east and Indian. Ocean in the South wash the shores of the Indian peninsula.

(b) India shares its land boundaries with seven countries. Name them.


The seven countries are :

Afghanistan (in the north-west)

Pakistan (in the north-west)

China (in the north)

Nepal (in the north)

Bhutan (in the north)

Myanmar (in the east)

Bangladesh (in the east)

(c) Which two major rivers fall into the Arabian sea ?


The two major rivers which fall into the Arabian sea are :



(d) Name the delta formed by the Ganga and Brahamaputa.


Sunderbans, in West Bengal, is the delta formed by the Ganga and Brahamaputra.

(e) How many states and union Territories are there in India ? Which states have a common capital ?


There are 28 states and 7 union territories in India. Punjab and Harayana have a common capital (chandigarh).

(f) Why do a large number of people live in the Northern plains ?


The Northern plains are generally level and flat and formed by the alluvial deposits brought down by the river Indus, Ganga and the Brahamaputra and their tributaries. It is a fertile land and that is why, large number of people live in the Northern plains.

(g) Why is Lakshadweep known as a coral island ?


Lakshadweep islands lie in the Arabian sea. They are formed of coral deposits. Coral polyps are short-lived microscopic organisms, which live in large groups in shallow, mud-free and warm waters. The islands lie opposite the coast of Kerela, in the Arabian sea.

  1. Tick the correct answers.

(a) The Southernmost Himalayas are known as

     (i) Shiwaliks    (ii) Himadri   (iii) Himachal


(i) Shiwaliks

(b) Sahyadris is also known as 

     (i) Aravali    (ii) Western ghats   (iii) Himadri


(ii) Western ghats

(c) The palk strait lies between the countries 

     (i) Sri Lanka and Maldives

    (ii) India and Sri Lanka

   (iii) India and Maldives


(ii) India and Sri Lanka

(d) The Indian islands in the Arabian sea are also known as 

     (i) Andaman and Nicobar Islands

    (ii) Lakshadweep Islands

   (iii) Maldives


Lakshadweep Islands

(e) The oldest mountain range in India is 

     (i) Aravali hills   (ii) Western ghats    (iii) Himalayas


(i) Aravali hills

  1. Fill in the blanks.

   (a) India has an area of about________

   (b) The greater Himalayas are also known as_______

   (c) The largest state in India in terms of area is________

   (d) The river Narmada falls into the __ sea

   (e) The latitude that runs almost halfway through India is_______


(a) 3.28 million sq. kms

(b) Himadri

(c) Rajasthan

(d) Arabian

(e) Tropic of Cancer

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *